A printer

After a long hard think about all the products and designs I would like to create we’ve been asked as part of our brief to reflect on whether we will be a printer, stitcher or both for this project and I have very much decided that for this brief I will take the role of a printer. Roughly knowing what my colour palette will be, I feel the colours will be best represented through print, either hand printing techniques or digitally printed. I want to create a graphic like style and throughout my last couple of years of print and stitch I feel this will also be best achieved through print techniques.

The idea of working with print for a gift wrap collection seems to be an obvious choice for me, the techniques I intend to experiment and work with are,

  • Flocking – for added texture and a raised effect
  • Foils
  • Digital print
  • Screen printing
  • Lino print
Leave a Reply

