Design Futuring

To begin my dissertation proposal the first book I have looked into is Tony Fry – Design Futuring. This book talks about sustainability, ethics and new practices when it comes to design and more importantly when it comes to design within the future. This book has helped me prepare for my dissertation because it has already began to make me more aware of the actions to take when it comes to designing something. Raising awareness is something I am keen to propose within my dissertation and the ideas within this book are helping me towards that.

The key concepts that are evident within this book are: ways of becoming a more sustainable designer, values you have as a designer, relational thinking, the economy etc. This will help me inform my own ideas through relating these ideas and values through to my own practice, and applying these to my practice within my dissertation.

Leave a Reply

