Final 12 designs

Colour Theory for final designs

To begin this process of my 6 croquis designs we started with colour theory. This helped me hugely allowed me to unpick and experiment with ways of creating a colour and variations of a colour, allowing me to pick the best colour chip or best technique for my colour way, I needed one, that looks appealing and two, works with my colour board. To have a colour that works with my colour board is very important, I do not wish to create something that does not follow my path or flow of design.

As stated in my blog entries, I had mentioned about the tedious task of creating a complimentary colour, this did not work as I had planned, the complimentary colour chips I had created the blue and orange had complimented each other very well which sparked my idea to use one of my designs as an alternative colour way using both blue and orange. I have found that it is hard to say no to a colour because I like it and not whether it will work or not and this has shown how that is a bad idea through one of my colour ways, but equally worth the experiment. The alternative colour way I feel begins to open up a new section within my theme of the 1960s, and does not create that classy, stylish approach I am trying to create. The complimentary colour I wish to involve will be shown within the hard furnishings of my bar, such as lighting etc.

Design 1, small scale buildings

I have experimented the dimensions of one drawing just so I could visually see the potential of all of them. I have found that you can push to see where one drawing can go, the first initial drawing tends to be good and you are pleased but after creating variations, the variations tend to be more exciting. I will be using this design as one of my final 6 paper croquis. This design has more to offer and looks more like a repeating pattern, I could begin to see this pattern in continuous rows rather than something that looks like a drawing. This croquis design will be the main element of bold print within the room.

Design 2, Geometrics

Architecture is becoming one of my main inspiration for a bold print. Again using the same colour palette as the other buildings, I incorporated the same colour to ensure consistency of my colour board. Taking another element of another building and using this as a potential design. I do not feel this is the strongest design, it looks informal, perhaps digital would be a better format for this idea, but still have included it to show how a two prints can coincide with one another.

Design 3, Tissue mark making

My third paper croquis is the beginning of my coordinating designs, this design originated from the experimentation of mark making in my sketchbook. I found that after doing my research of types of design I can easily create the textures I have been longing to create in a printed form without it looking like a confusion of design and pattern. Using basic artist techniques to fulfil the empty space within my bar.

Design 4 & 5, Flat brush mark making

Design 4 and 5 are in my final six to show an example of the alternative colour way. I feel it is important to have them both in my final 6 as it shows the potential of both. I have learnt through my c.a.d visuals that too much of a blue or grey can supress the room so to have an alternative it opens up a choice of what will look better.

Design 6, Ruler mark making

To complete my final 6 paper collection I used inspiration again from my sketchbook of the mark making techniques I have used, the ruler design was created by painting the edge of the ruler and scraping it across the page to create these incomplete lines. This works as a coordinating design alongside all other of my 5 designs could be used with all or only some of the collection.

Design 7, screen print rubbings

Using my workshop day I took my rubbings further into a screen print, rubbings I had created off walls and floors. I was not sure how these would turn out but had turned out better than expected and complimented my theme very well. The materials I worked on I believe also had an influence on the overall design. These also have come in alternative colour ways. Using white on white and silver foil.

Design 8, screen print rubbing

Using a different rubbing I created a different design this differs from the previous design as use of space is a lot more prominent, the design fills space. I used grey to begin with and completed it with blue foil over the top.

Design 9, Buildings

Using the buildings I used for my paper croquis design I took the first initial drawing through to a screen and experimented with foils and pigment. The colours used in these as stated in my blog do not necessarily match my paper designs in terms of the colour blue. I found it easier to create a blue using gouche paints rather than using the pigment. The blue created was a lot darker than I had planned but still found some of designs worked ok.

Design 10, Building, blue and grey

I created my design up of three different sections so I could work with three different colours upon each other. Before finalising my design with an outline of foil, I decided that I preferred the design of the buildings without an outline and created an abstract version of the buildings, I prefer this one because I think it represents the geometric dimension of the 60s better.

Design 11, moon surface in stitch

This sample relates back to part one where I focused on the moon as part of my 1960’s inspiration, other than print I wanted to work out how to create textures through stitch. This was created by hand by pinching areas of the fabric and sewing until a knot was formed. First experimented with white cotton and moved onto a light weight silk fabric to work with my chosen interior.

Design 12, Pleating

This sample was created to introduce more textures to my collection, I would see this sample as an element of something, bar stalls or cushions. To have much of this I think it would take over another design, similar to fashion this design will only be used in a small area of a garment. With using this machine you can use as many needles as you want, using a 1-2 needles creates a different effect in comparison to using 6-8 needles, fabric used also creates a different appearance.

Leave a Reply

