Creating textures from the 60’s

From previous feedback in part one of subject it was noted that I needed to begin experimenting with stitch to create these textures I am so keen to show within my interior space.

I had began with the research – types of design. Organic textures allowed me to see textures within animals and nature, giving me ideas how I too could create line and depth through stitch. I then began to play around with a needle thread to re create the 60’s within texture and stitch. As my main influence began with the space age – the first man on the moon being one of the memorable elements within the 60’s, I decided to use this as my starting point and experimented creating textures of the moon.

For this I used a plain cotton to see if this would work before I would continue on to any other material to avoid mistakes and ruining potentially an expensive fabric. Fortunately I did not make any mistakes, all I did was pinch certain areas of the fabric and sew around and through until the knot I created was secured and repeated until a large amount of the surface was covered. I found that especially with this example of stitch manipulation that a lot of fabric is needed, If I had wanted to create a large wall hanging of this design I would need a lot of fabric and time to ensure this was finished. Although I believe a large wall hanging would work well within my chosen theme and interior space, I believe that it could equally work as well on seats around the bar or cushions.

As I am now confident that this works well on calico and the process of this technique is simple I am keen to try this onto fabrics such as chiffon and silks, as after my research into interior space of a night club, chiffon and silk appear to be the most popular. I think this is because these types of fabrics are able to create a high end luxurious finish easily and this perfect for my client and chosen market. I would also like to heat set the design once finished so that the bubbles that represent the surface of the moon will remain without any visible stitch mark or thread, this will give a neater finish to the overall design.

How else can I create these textures?

I began looking into other possible techniques that can produce a similar effect and experimented with shibori knots. This was a quicker way of creating a similar effect, the longest part of this process was waiting for the fabric to dry in order to remove the string that create the knots, whereas the hand sewn knots was the longest part.

IMG_0850I think both designs have potential but I think the shibori knots have a more natural indefinite style due to using more or less parts of the fabric.

However this may be because of the fabric that I feel it looks better in comparison to the other stitch manipulated design. This lightweight fabric gives a more loose effect where as the cotton fabric appears more heavier than what it is. I feel a better comparison for a final outcome will be when I experiment with a light weight fabric for the hand stitched representation of the moon surface.

Leave a Reply

