Mixed berries natural dyes

Following from my natural onion dyes, I decided to experiment with mixed berries, I am aware that I will not get the Moroccan colours from these fruits, however I am thoroughly enjoying the natural dye process and wanted to see the colours that could be produced from these berries.

This is one example of the berry dye experiment, I am pleased with the outcome of these. But after leaving them to dry over the radiator the radiator did leave imprints on the IMG_0660fabric, this was not intentional however it did encourage me to do some shibori with the left over dye and some pre prepared fabric to soak and leave over night.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

SHIBORI

What I like about the natural dying process is that the colours are not consistent and the duration of the fabric in the dye creates a big impact.

IMG_0661As you can see here the colour has gone from a pink to a purple from leaving it over night.

 

The shibori technique is defiantly something I will continue to carry out through out the natural dying process just because I think you can carry out some beautiful patterns and visual textures. However my worry for this especially in the duration of this project, is that I am creating the wrong scene by creating these patterns.

But I have been keeping all these samples in a sketchbook with all the times, fabrics etc to refer back to at a later date to continue experimenting.

Leave a Reply

