Creating Moroccan colours

In todays workshop I began my day with silk painting using the drawings I drew in Morocco, the drawing I used was one of a rooftop. From my basic line drawing I traced over the silk and repeated this drawing several times to create a pattern, I then took this further into stitch using free machining to create definitive lines. However I did not like how this turned out, I felt it very much looked a mess with how the paint bled slightly and the fabric had puckered due to the free machining.

Moving on from the silk painting in the afternoon I used the dye baths to try and replicate the sandy pink colour of Morocco. I thoroughly enjoyed this and again got inspired by the original inspiration of colour.  This has lead me to change my idea from urban city prints to colour experimentation. I have not disregarded this idea however at this moment in time I am more intrigued for colour and texture experimentation through stitch and dyes.

Following up the advice given within my first tutorial in Morocco with homogeneous colours, today I experimented with fabrics and dyes, creating a range of homogeneous colours by leaving some fabrics in the dye baths for different times. I feel like I have captured the colour of Morocco in the sense of silk calico and canvas.

As well as using the dyes within the textiles studio I have also experimented with the pigments bought in Morocco, some dyes have came out brilliantly however some others not so well. The majorelle blue came out just as expected bright and powerful, whereas the purple brown did not take, however I do understand that some pigments don’t always react with certain fabrics so this could be why.

From my experimentation with dyes today I am now keen to make my own dyes that will also capture the colour of Morocco using spices and leaves that would be typically be found in Morocco. My research will consist of the type of fabrics needed to work with the dye and the ingredients and method needed to produce the dyes. To begin my research I have taken out two natural dying books from the library. The next step I wish to follow on with is to then include elements of stitch a texture.

 

Leave a Reply

