Theme and moodboards.

‘Scanned memory’

A simplistic, purer and more ethically correct way of life: away from consumption, stress and rigid must-haves – towards favourites and a genuine feeling of well-being. x-rays/ see through chic/lightness/delicacy.

I have chosen scanned memory for my theme throughout the digital project. As suggested that we look back at our previous sketchbook work from subject in term one I based my theme on a trip to the cathedral where I drew a bouquet of flowers, selecting a few flowers that I liked best. I chose that as my inspiration towards the theme of scanned memory purely because in comparison to my previous work in field my work has been more structural and I thought it would be nice to do something more feminine to then take further into digital.

To kick start off the process to this term I began to use websites such as pintrest to search for images that I think will relate back to my theme to then create a digital moodboard to use for inspiration throughout.

The images I came across were images such as, insect wings, wild mushrooms and the natural patterning, dead flowers, spider webs etc. I found that the ugliest things such as the insects have some of the prettiest and delicate patterns embedded. Something to consider at later stage of designing.

Once I selected these images I then took them through to photoshop to create a moodboard. With the tools and techniques that we learn’t previously, I used in my moodboard, this was the gradient and transparency effect. I felt this was a good way to overlay and create a flow between all images as they all combine easier. Completing this on photoshop became more of a success than I thought and quickly became pleased with my outcome, I feel like my moodboards were good because I think the tools I was using such as the transparency allowed me to have control over the image, making an image appear more delicate. Although during this I found that it was very time consuming, nearly taking a whole day to complete one board. I found that this was time consuming because of the positioning of each image, placing it within the moodboard is important, I wanted the images to connect and interact with the others. On the other hand once completed I now feel more confident with these tools and techniques to continue to use within mood and colour boards within future projects.

moodboard 3 moodboard floral 2

I liked creating these moodboards digitally as previously mentioned I like the control you have over the images, I like how they combine rather than overlapping one another like you would get if you were to do a moodboard by hand, there is more of a greater picture.

My next step within this digital process is to consider colours ready for my colour boards in which will give me a clear understanding when it comes to designing potential patterns using websites such as WGSN for trend predictions to make sure my colour palette runs along side trends in the market.

Leave a Reply

